News from EDS

Multi-Constituency Task Force to Focus on Strategic Thinking at EDS

FiftMembers of the Multi-Constituency Task Forceeen members of the EDS community, including students, faculty, alumni/ae, and staff, met Thursday for the first of several meetings of the new Multi-Constituency Task Force.

Episcopal Divinity School Interim President and Dean Francis Fornaro’s Statement on the Retirement of Washington National Cathedral Dean Gary Hall

The Very Rev. Gary Hall and the Very Rev. Francis Fornaro

On August 18, 2015, EDS Board of Trustees Chair the Very Rev. Gary Hall ’76 announced his retirement as Dean of the Washington National Cathedral.

“In the months since I was named interim president and dean of Episcopal Divinity School, I have had the pleasure of working closely with EDS trustee and alumnus the Very Rev. Gary Hall—a pleasure that has only grown since he became chair of our board of trustees in June.

EDS Announces 2015 Jonathan Daniels Fellows

Episcopal Divinity School is pleased to announce the Jonathan M. Daniels Memorial Fellowship recipients for 2015. The fellowship is awarded annually and provides financial assistance to one or more seminarians seeking to strengthen their theological education through participation in a social movement concerned with important human needs, including, but not limited to, civil rights, community organization, fair housing, immigrant rights, prisoner rights, racial equality, or environmental justice.

Statement on the Supreme Court's Equal Marriage Ruling

Yesterday’s Supreme Court ruling in the case of Obergefell v Hodges is a momentous victory that affirms the dignity of all people. Episcopal Divinity School is proud of its history of leadership on issues of LGBTQ equality: from welcoming some of the first openly gay and lesbian students and faculty decades ago to advocating for equal marriage and the ordination of gay and lesbian clergy in this century, EDS has long stood with our LGBTQ sisters and brothers in the fight for equal rights.

Statement of Interim President and Dean the Very Rev. Francis Fornaro on the election of the Rt. Rev. Michael B. Curry as Presiding Bishop of The Episcopal Church

Bishop Michael B. Curry

On behalf of the students, faculty, staff, and alumni/ae of Episcopal Divinity School, I congratulate Bishop Michael B. Curry on his election as presiding bishop of The Episcopal Church. Bishop Curry’s ministry and leadership have been a beacon to so many both in The Episcopal Church and in the wider world—from his advocacy for compassionate and just immigration policies, to his work in ministry development and economic justice across the country.

Four Things You Need to Know about General Convention This Year

The Rev. Dr. Cameron Partridge

By the Rev. Dr. Cameron Partridge

The Episcopal Church’s (TEC) seventy-eighth triennial General Convention, running from June 25 to July 3, 2015, in Salt Lake City, UT, will take up a number of key issues ranging from church-wide restructuring to marriage equality to the election of a new presiding bishop to the church’s relationship to alcohol.

The Very Rev. Gary Hall ’76 Elected Chair of the EDS Board of Trustees

The Very Rev. Gary Hall

Cambridge, MA (June 9, 2015)--The Very Rev. James Kowalski has announced that he is retiring from Episcopal Divinity School's Board of Trustees, where he has served for five years and was elected chair three times. In a private message to fellow trustees, the Very Rev. Kowalski expressed his hope and prayers for a bright future for the institution he called "transformational in my life." Kowalski currently serves as dean of St. John the Divine Episcopal Cathedral in the Diocese of New York.

EDS Dedicates The Rev. Dr. David J. Siegenthaler ’55 Atrium

David Siegenthaler

Cambridge, MA (May 8, 2015)--Episcopal Divinity School (EDS) honored longtime associate the Rev. Dr. David J. Siegenthaler by dedicating The Rev. Dr. David J. Siegenthaler ’55 Atrium in Sherrill Library during the school’s Alumni/ae Days festivities.

Dr. Gale A. Yee Receives the Graduate Theological Foundation's Krister Stendahl Medal

Gale Yee Receives Krister Stendahl Medal

Dr. Gale A. Yee, Nancy W. King Professor of Biblical Studies at Episcopal Divinity School, was awarded the 2015 Krister Stendahl Medal in Biblical Studies by the Graduate Theological Foundation, during the institution's annual commencement ceremony in Mishawaka, IN, on May 8. Named for the Swedish theologian and New Testament scholar, Emeritus Bishop of Stockholm, Professor Emeritus and former dean of Harvard Divinity School, the Krister Stendahl Medal is awarded annually to an eminent Biblical scholar. Past recipients include The Rev. Professor John Barton of Oxford University, and Dr.

Friendship and Joy: Commencement Eucharist Sermon by Dr. Fredrica Harris Thompsett

The following is the text of the sermon given by Dr. Fredrica Harris Thompsett, Mary Wolfe Professor Emerita of Historical Theology, during the 2015 Commencement Eucharist on Wednesday, May 20. 

In the name of one God:
Who blesses us without asking,
Persistently leads us to new life
And joyously pursues us morning by morning, day by day.